A Beginner's Guide to the Chakras | Blog Post Feature Image | Britt Chemla Jones

The 7 Chakras – A Beginner’s Guide

Have you ever felt like you’re constantly on the edge of anxiety, struggling to set healthy boundaries or have trouble expressing yourself authentically? If so, you’re not alone. These experiences are often linked to imbalances in our chakras – these swirling energy centers that make up our subtle body. But no worries: today we’re exploring the transformative power of the chakras.

Your Energy Body:

Let’s start at the beginning… You have a physical body and you have an energy body. Both are completely intertwined and affect each other. Your energy body is made up of tens of thousands of energy channels, called “meridians” in acupuncture and traditional Chinese medicine, and “nadis” in Indian yogic practices. Now, in very simple terms, places in the body where major nadis meet and intersect: those are energy centers called “chakras”.

Demystifying the Chakras:

The word “chakra” comes from the ancient language Sanskrit, and it can be translated as “wheel” or “disk.” These energy centers are like spinning wheels, each with its own unique color, location, elemental and crystal association, purpose and function. When our chakras are in balance, energy flows freely, nurturing our physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. But when they’re out of balance, we can experience any number of misalignments with our energy. Read on to find out more…

The seven main chakras and their properties:

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara): Located deep in the pelvis, at the base of the spine, this chakra is all about grounding, safety, and security. It’s represented with the color red and is associated with the Earth element. Crystals that connect with the Root Chakra are either black (like Tourmaline or Obsidian) or red (like Garnet). When it’s balanced, you feel safe and grounded with strong healthy boundaries.
  2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana): Nestled in the belly, below the navel, this is the chakra of creativity, pleasure, fun, sensuality and feeling in flow with the Universe. It’s orange and connected with the Water element. A beautiful crystal for connecting with the sacral chakra is deep orange Carnelian. With a balanced sacral chakra, you can embrace your inner artist and let your imagination and child-like sense of fun and wonder run free.
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): This is your personal power center! It’s located in the upper abdomen, above the navel, and this is the chakra of confidence, self-esteem, and your ability to move into inspired action. The color is yellow and the element is Fire. Great crystals to tap into Solar Plexus energy are yellow Citrine and Pyrite (also called Fool’s Gold).
  4. Heart Chakra (Anahata): This chakra is located in the center of the chest, near the anatomical heart. It is the energy center of love, patience, compassion, and forgiveness. This chakra is somewhat unusual in that it has two colors: either bright green or light pink. Associated crystals are green Aventurine and Rose Quartz. It’s connected with the element of Air because of it’s proximity to the lungs. The Heart Chakra radiates gentle energy and reminds us to always love ourselves first.
  5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): Located in the throat, this is the chakra of communication, self-expression, authenticity and speaking your truth. It’s associated with the color blue and with the element of Sound. Lapis Lazuli is a powerful blue crystal for connecting with the throat. Feeling unable to speak up in conversation or rehearsing your words extensively before speaking are possible signs of an out of balance Throat Chakra.
  6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): In the center of the forehead, this is the gateway to intuition, insight, and inner knowing. The color of this chakra is purple and the element is Light. The crystal to engage with 3rd Eye is beautiful Amethyst. This is the energy center that invites you to trust your innate wisdom and inner voice.
  7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): Last but not least, we have the crown chakra, located at the top of the head. This is like a spiritual beacon that connects us to the divine, reminding us of our spiritual essence and the interconnectedness of all things. The energy of the Crown Chakra exists beyond all colors, all sounds and all elements. To connect with it, you can work with a Clear Quartz crystal.

6 tips for keeping your chakras in harmony:

  • Explore yoga with an experienced teacher: certain yoga poses, shapes and movements will engage and align different chakras.
  • There are wonderful guided meditations online that help to balance each of the chakras. Listen to several and see which ones resonate with you.
  • Need some self-love and self-compassion? Remember that all types of breathwork (or “pranayama”, yogic breath) help to bring the Heart Chakra into alignment.
  • Include crystal vibration in your daily life. When a chakra feels out of balance, reach for the appropriate crystal and keep it near you so you can absorb its healing energy.
  • You can also try working with affirmations, mantras, or journaling prompts tailored to each chakra’s energy. Experiment – keep what works for you and discard what doesn’t.
  • Receiving Reiki Energy Healing from an experienced Reiki Master, either in person or remotely, is instrumental in helping you harmonize all 7 chakras at one time.

The secrets of the chakras

And here you have it: foundational knowledge on your 7 main chakras and a good place to begin your own research and exploration. Always remember to embrace the interconnectedness of the whole chakra system and to recognize that balance is a lifelong journey, not a destination. And as you continue on your spiritual path, may you embrace the energy within and the beauty of your true essence.

If you’d like more on the Grounded Spirit Life, please sign up for my weekly newsletter.

Sending you love and light,  


PS: For a deeper dive, check out “Your Spiritual Tool Kit”: https://yoga-by-britt.ck.page/products/your-spiritual-tool-kit

Get in touch with Britt Jones

Hi, I'm Britt

Welcome to the realm of holistic healing and inner transformation! Hi, I’m Britt and I’m dedicated to helping you break free from limitations, alleviate physical aches and pains, and discover profound serenity.

Together, we embark on a journey to dissolve barriers, unveil inner wisdom, and empower you to manifest your dreams. Let’s embark on a transformative path toward holistic well-being and radiant living.

Join My Newsletter!

Additional Blog Posts: